2022 Cycle of NAM Healthy Longevity Catalyst Awards

Healthy Longevity Catalyst Awards

As part of the Healthy Longevity Global Competition, the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) announces application acceptance for the 2022 cycle of its US-based Catalyst Awards. The application window is January 17, 2022, through February 28, 2022, at 11:59 pm EST. Up to 25 innovators will each receive a $50,000 cash prize. Additionally, each will receive travel costs to attend the 2023 annual Global Innovator Summit.

To help address the world’s rapidly aging population, the NAM launched the Healthy Longevity Global Competition. Specifically, this three-phase awards program seeks to identify and support bold, innovative, and potentially breakthrough ideas to improve health as people age. The Catalyst Awards reward exciting new or early-stage projects with potential to advance the field of healthy longevity while extending the human healthspan. As a result, the research will hopefully allow individuals to live more enriching lives and stay active in their communities, families, and the workforce well into their later years.

Eligible projects aim to improve the mental, physical, or social health and well-being of individuals. What’s more, projects can focus on any stage of life. Ultimately, they must promote health for people as they age.

The Application Process

The NAM encourages US-based individuals and teams from all fields, backgrounds, industries, and specialties to apply. Simply complete the simple 2-page application to be considered for a $50,000 prize. In addition to the winners, all applicants advancing to the final stages of the Catalyst Award review process are automatically considered for subsequent funding. Furthermore, this second phase of the Global Competition, the Accelerator Award, is worth from $150,000 to more than $1 million USD.

For inspiration, see winners of the previous rounds of NAM Catalyst Awards. Currently, the various recipients have backgrounds in public service, computer science, clinical medicine, biomedical research, public health, and more.

Learn more in our 2021 informational webinar for prospective applicants, guidelines for submission. Also, consult our FAQ for additional details. For other questions, please contact catalystawards@nas.edu (subject Question–NAM Catalyst Awards).

A Global Network

The NAM’s US-based Catalyst Award competition is part of a global initiative to extend the human healthspan. However, there are Catalyst Award competitions worldwide open to innovators in over 50 countries and territories!

Apply today for a chance to share your innovative idea with the world. Help transform the future of aging!

Posted in Announcements & News.

Leave a Reply